top of page
  • Writer's pictureKelly Hazelton

To the Christian Woman with Depression

Updated: May 21, 2020

There’s this weird idea in some Christian circles that the moment you accept God into your life and recognize that Jesus died for your sins, went to heaven then returned defeating death, that your feelings, behaviours, and illnesses will immediately change. That as you read these Bible verses for depression, the gloom will suddenly lift and you will never be subject to it again.

This couldn’t be further from the truth, especially when it comes to mental illness. but also with any sort of addiction, sinful behaviour, language, etc. Just because it doesn't go away immediately and forever there is good news. With God's love, grace and strength, recovery is possible. You can use God's word to remind you of some truths.

10 of these truths are listed below:

#1: God Will Never Leave You It is the Lord who goes before you. He will be with you; he will not leave you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed (Deuteronomy 31:8).

#2: God Will Strengthen You and Uphold You …fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand (Isaiah 41:10).

#3: God Hears Your Cry I waited patiently for the Lord; he inclined to me and heard my cry. He drew me up from the pit of destruction, out of the miry bog, and set my feet upon a rock, making my steps secure. He put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God (Psalm 40:1-3).

#4: The Lord Is Your Shield But you, O Lord, are a shield about me, my glory, and the lifter of my head (Psalm 3:3).


#5: God Is Near To The Brokenhearted The Lord is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit. Many are the afflictions of the righteous, but the Lord delivers him out of them all (Psalm 34:18-19).

#6: The Lord Will Renew Your Strength …but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint (Isaiah 40:31).


#7: He will not forsake you …a bruised reed he will not break, and a faintly burning wick he will not quench; he will faithfully bring forth justice (Isaiah 42:3).

#8: God will give you the rest you need Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light (Matthew 11:28-30)


#9: Nothing Can Separate You From God For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord (Romans 8:38-39).

#10: The Lord Hears Your Cry When the righteous cry for help, the Lord hears and delivers them out of all their troubles (Psalm 34:17).

Just having God in your life is not enough. We must also do our part in our recovery, mental wellness, and showing God's work within us. We do this by admitting that we are not able to do it on our own, that we need God to direct our path. That only with God's work within us are we able to truly heal. Through faith (in Jesus) we are healed. Not through good deeds or following a list of man-made rules. God created us and put us in our situation so that His greatness can be highlighted.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page